Photo: IN-BETWEEN LINES

Whenever I travel to a new place, I enjoy practicing one of my favorite sports: taking long walks by myself, camera in hand, spending as much time as I will, just looking at people and places, observing habits and taking pictures, getting lost and finally (hopefully) finding my way around back to the base camp. I am good at reading maps, at understanding the logic of city layout; happily, so far I have always managed to find my way back to the base camp!

Last year, while practicing that sport in Santiago de Chile I found myself in an office building with a charmingly tacky (or was it tackily charming?) inside open space.

20120708-133324.jpg

20120708-133648.jpg

20120708-133731.jpg

20120708-133756.jpg

20120708-133838.jpg

In general, if you are good at reading in-between lines, you perceive more information than the obvious, visible to everyone. And that applies not only to words and their silences, but also to objects and their shapes, and also to spaces and their emptiness.

Buildings are like people. They have a personality. But most of the time, buildings last longer, and therefore, with the perspective of time, some look now outdated.

Reading in-between lines an old, outdated building tells you many things about the way people lived when the building was splendorous: their habits, their tastes…

I sometimes play the game “let’s pretend this picture was the opening frame of a movie” in my head. In my mind, I make up the characters, their personalities, the relationships between them, how they would act, how they would move. And immediately after, where the camera would be placed, how it would pan and shift…

P.

Leave a Reply

